Posted on November 27, 2019 at 10:30 AM by Sadye Scott-Hainchek

We’re nearly a year away from the next Nobel Prize for Literature, but there may already be a front-runner for the award.

Irish author Edna O’Brien received the David Cohen Prize — a lifetime achievement award — last night.

Previous winners of the award, given every other year, include future Nobel laureates VS Naipaul, Doris Lessing, and Harold Pinter.

O’Brien’s fellow authors have called her among the world’s greatest living writers, for works such as The Country Girls (her debut novel), Country Girl (her bestselling memoir), and Girl (her most recent novel, about a schoolgirl kidnapped by Boko Haram).

Read more about O’Brien and the reasons she received a £40,000 ($51,500) prize in the Guardian.

Related posts


Categories: Today in Books

There are no comments yet.
Add Comment

* Indicates a required field