Posted on July 1, 2021 at 12:00 PM by Sadye Scott-Hainchek

Joy Williams has won the 2021 Library of Congress Prize for American Fiction.

Williams was announced as the winner yesterday but will be honored at a prize ceremony in September.

The award goes to an American writer whose work is “distinguished not only for its mastery of the art but also for its originality of thought and imagination,” according to the Library of Congress.

Williams has previously published four short story collections, two works of nonfiction and four novels, with a fifth — Harrow — coming out September 14.

Her previous accolades include the Rea Award for the Short Story and the Strauss Living Award; she has also been a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize, the National Book Award and the National Book Critics Circle Award.

Read more about Williams’s credentials and the Library of Congress Prize for American Fiction in a news release from the LOC.

Related posts 

Categories: Today in Books

Tagged As: Awards, Short story

There are no comments yet.
Add Comment

* Indicates a required field