Posted on July 24, 2018 at 8:46 AM by Sadye Scott-Hainchek

The longlist for the Man Booker Prize was released yesterday evening.

The following thirteen nominees were chosen from among a list of 171 books, the largest number of submissions in the prize’s fifty-year history, according to a press release.

The five judges will cull this list to six and announce those semifinalists on September 20, and the winner will be revealed October 16.

Of note: Sabrina is the first graphic novel to make the longlist, according to The Guardian.

The list also includes the writer who won the Golden Man Booker, a special honor to mark the award’s fifty-year anniversary: Michael Ondaatje, author of The English Patient.

And four of the novels are the authors’ debuts: The Long Take, The Water Cure, In Our Mad And Furious City, and Everything Under.

Categories: Today in Books

There are no comments yet.
Add Comment

* Indicates a required field