Posted on 08/30/2018 at 04:00 PM by Sadye Scott-Hainchek

The New Academy announced its shortlist for the 2018 literature prize that’s replacing the Nobel.

Voters worldwide narrowed down a list of forty-seven nominees (chosen by Swedish librarians) to just four contenders: Maryse Condé, Haruki Murakami, Kim Thuy, and Neil Gaiman.

You can see their biographies and a select bibliography on the New Academy’s website.

The winner will be revealed on October 12.

The New Academy formed this summer for the sole purpose of giving out an alternative to the Nobel Prize for Literature, which was canceled this year over rape allegations.

It will dissolve on December 11, the day after it hands out its prize.

Related posts

Categories: Today in Books

Tagged As: Awards, Contests, Scandal

There are no comments yet.
Add Comment

* Indicates a required field