Posted on February 10, 2020 at 1:00 PM by Sadye Scott-Hainchek

A new literary award for women comes with a cash prize of over $100,000.

The first winner of the Carol Shields Prize for Fiction will be announced in 2022, reports the Guardian.

Its goal is to “acknowledge, celebrate and promote fiction by Canadian and American women writers,” in the spirit of the author after whom it was named.

Prominent supporters of the new award include Jennifer Egan and Margaret Atwood, who said it will “help balance the gender scales in the awarding of North American prizes for excellence in fiction, which, overall, now stand at one-third female to two-thirds male.”

Read more about Shields and the award named after her in the Guardian.

Related posts

Categories: Today in Books

There are no comments yet.
Add Comment

* Indicates a required field