Posted on March 26, 2020 at 3:00 PM by Sadye Scott-Hainchek

The Whiting Foundation honors ten emerging fiction and nonfiction writers and grants each of them $50,000.

Past recipients — including Ocean Vuong, Colson Whitehead, and Tracy K. Smith — have gone on to gain considerable acclaim.

So take note of this year's winners so you can say you read them first (or, well, read them early):

  • Fiction: Genevieve Sly Crane, Andrea Lawlor, and Ling Ma

  • Nonfiction: Jaquira Díaz and Jia Tolentino

  • Poetry: Aria Aber, Diannely Antigua, Jake Skeets, and Genya Turovskaya

  • Drama: Will Arbery

Check out the Whiting Awards’ current winner page for excerpts, praise, and more about each of the honorees.

Categories: Today in Books

Tagged As: Awards

There are no comments yet.
Add Comment

* Indicates a required field