Posted on April 8, 2021 at 2:00 PM by Sadye Scott-Hainchek

We applaud all 184 recipients of a John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation fellowship.

But of course we’re especially excited for the twenty-six writers and poets who won grants for being “exceptional individuals in pursuit of scholarship … and creation.”

Here are their names; you can read more about each on the Guggenheim Foundation website.


  • Ellen Bass

  • Don Mee Choi

  • Andrea Cohen

  • Stephen Kuusisto

  • Sandra Lim

  • Tracie Morris

  • Craig Morgan Teicher

  • Roberto José Tejada

  • Connie Voisine

  • Mark Wunderlich 


  • Kaitlyn Greenidge

  • Mitchell S. Jackson

  • Tayari Jones

  • Daniel Mason

  • Laura van den Berg

  • Paul Yoon 

General nonfiction

  • Alexander Chee

  • Ian Frazier

  • William Giraldi

  • Farah Jasmine Griffin

  • Helen Molesworth

  • George Prochnik

  • Wendell Steavenson

  • Robert Sullivan

  • Michelle Tea

  • Kate Zambreno

Categories: Today in Books

Tagged As: Awards

There are no comments yet.
Add Comment

* Indicates a required field