Posted on November 18, 2021 at 7:46 AM by Sadye Scott-Hainchek

The 2021 National Book Award winners have been revealed!

The winners, who each receive $10,000, are:

Two honorary prizes were also presented at the ceremony, which was virtual for a second straight year.

Author-playwright Karen Tei Yamashita received a lifetime achievement medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters, and author-librarian-NPR commentator Nancy Pearl was given the Literarian Award for Outstanding Service to the American Literary Community.

The Associated Press notes that both Yamashita and Pearl, in accepting their awards, expressed concerns about a current wave of censorship attempts in schools and libraries as well as attacks against racial minorities.

Here are the shortlists for each category, if you're curious about all of the nominees.

Categories: Today in Books

Tagged As: Awards, Book lists

There are no comments yet.
Add Comment

* Indicates a required field