Posted on April 6, 2022 at 10:00 AM by Sadye Scott-Hainchek

Congratulations to author Rabih Alameddine, whose novel The Wrong End of the Telescope has won the 2022 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction.

His reward for receiving America’s largest peer-juried prize for fiction, which received five hundred submissions this year, is a $15,000 cash prize. 

The Wrong End of the Telescope follows a Lebanese doctor alienated from her entire family except her brother, who convinces her to leave the US to help at a Syrian refugee camp in Lesbos, Greece.

The four other finalists — Nawaaz Ahmed (Radiant Fugitives), Carolina de Robertis (The President and the Frog), Carolyn Ferrell (Dear Miss Metropolitan), and Imbolo Mbue (How Beautiful We Were— will receive $5,000 each.

They and Alameddine will be honored at the annual PEN/Faulkner Award Celebration (held virtually) on May 2.

Read more about the PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction and why The Wrong End of the Telescope won it on the award website.

You can also read Alameddine's short story “One Rapper’s Dreams of FBI Stardom” at Literary Hub.

Related posts 

Categories: Today in Books

There are no comments yet.
Add Comment

* Indicates a required field