Posted on March 9, 2023 at 12:00 PM by Sadye Scott-Hainchek

The Baillie Gifford Prize for Nonfiction is celebrating a milestone with a winner of winners award.

The Guardian reports that judges chose six titles from the previous twenty-four years of the prize, and those books will compete for a £25,000 purse (about $27,800) to mark the award's twenty-fifth anniversary.

Notable observations about the contenders: just one author is British, though half of the titles deal with British icons; and two-thirds of the shortlisted authors are male, representing the same proportion of authors who have won in the past.

Here's the shortlist, with the winner to be announced April 27:

Categories: Today in Books

There are no comments yet.
Add Comment

* Indicates a required field