Posted on October 17, 2023 at 12:00 PM by Sadye Scott-Hainchek

Congratulations to the winners of the 2023 Dayton Literary Peace Prize!

Horse by Geraldine Brooks is the fiction winner; the novel ties together three separate plot lines from three eras of history — the enslaved groom of a prize racehorse; an art gallery owner living a century later; and modern-day academics — to explore art, science, obsession, and racism. 

His Name Is George Floyd: One Man’s Life and the Struggle for Racial Justice by Robert Samuels and Toluse Olorunnipa is the nonfiction winner; the book covers the life of the titular figure, yes, but also how systemic racism marked it through his tragic death, 

The prize for each is $10,000, and it's worth noting that all three authors have won Pulitzer Prizes: Brooks for a previous work; Samuels and Olorunnipa, for His Name Is George Floyd

The Dayton Literary Peace Prize honors "writers whose work uses the power of literature to foster peace, social justice, and global understanding."

Earlier this summer, the prize announced that Sandra Cisneros would receive this year's Ambassador Richard C. Holbrooke Distinguished Achievement Award.

Related posts 

Categories: Today in Books

Tagged As: Awards, Book lists

There are no comments yet.
Add Comment

* Indicates a required field