Posted on March 3, 2020 at 10:00 AM by Sadye Scott-Hainchek

The 2020 Women’s Prize for Fiction longlist has been released, though one book on its list has not been. 

The much-anticipated final book in Hilary Mantel's Thomas Cromwell trilogy, The Mirror and the Light, will come out on March 5 in the United Kingdom and March 10 in the United States.

Several other familiar names are in contention for the United Kingdom’s most prestigious annual book award for fiction written by a woman and its £30,000 prize (about $38,500 US), including one of last year's Booker Prize winners: Girl, Woman, Other, by Bernardine Evaristo.

Here they are:

A shortlist of six novels will emerge from these contenders on April 22, with a winner being announced June 3.

Founded in 1996, the prize was set up to celebrate excellence, originality, and accessibility in writing by women throughout the world.

It was known as the Orange Prize for Fiction between 1996 and 2012, and then as the Baileys Prize for Fiction until 2016.

Related posts

Categories: Today in Books

There are no comments yet.
Add Comment

* Indicates a required field