Posted on April 30, 2021 at 2:00 PM by Sadye Scott-Hainchek

The Mystery Writers of America announced the winners for the annual Edgar Allan Poe awards, which honor the best mystery fiction, nonfiction, and television, yesterday.

Previously, authors Jeffery Deaver and Charlaine Harris were announced as recipients of the annual Grand Master Award, which honors significant contributions to the mystery genre.

Best novelDjinn Patrol on the Purple Line, by Deepa Anappara 

Best first novel by an American authorPlease See Us, by Caitlin Mullen 

Best paperback original: When No One is Watching, by Alyssa Cole 

Best fact crimeDeath in Mud Lick: A Coal Country Fight Against the Drug Companies that Delivered the Opioid Epidemic, by Eric Eyre 

Best critical/biographical: Phantom Lady: Hollywood Producer Joan Harrison, the Forgotten Woman Behind Hitchcock, by Christina Lane

Best short story: "Dust, Ash, Flight," by Maaza Mengiste

Best juvenile novelPremeditated Myrtle, by Elizabeth C. Bunce 

Best YA novelThe Companion, by Katie Alender

Best TV episode teleplay: “Episode 1, Photochemistry” from Dead Still, by John Morton

Robert L. Fish Memorial: "The Bite,” by Colette Bancroft

The Simon & Schuster Mary Higgins Clark Award: The Cabinets of Barnaby Mayne, by Elsa Hart

The G.P. Putnam’s Sons Sue Grafton Memorial Award: Vera Kelly is Not a Mystery, by Rosalie Knecht

Related posts 

Categories: Today in Books

Tagged As: Awards, Book lists, Mystery

There are no comments yet.
Add Comment

* Indicates a required field