Posted on September 24, 2021 at 2:00 PM by Sadye Scott-Hainchek

If you’re not familiar with the John Dos Passos Prize for Literature, that actually seems fitting.

The award, according to the founders, was created to honor the great (but often overlooked) author of The 42nd Parallel, 1919, and The Big Money.

The five novelists who this year have been deemed equally talented but underappreciated are: Sarah Shun-lien Bynum, Nathan Englander, Maaza Mengiste, Monique Truong, and Leni Zumas.

The winner will be announced in October; they receive $2,000 and the opportunity to give a reading at Longwood University (the administrator of the award) in spring 2022.

Previous winners, who in some cases are no longer overlooked, include Colson Whitehead, Annie Proulx, and Tom Wolfe.

Related posts 

Categories: Today in Books

Tagged As: Awards

There are no comments yet.
Add Comment

* Indicates a required field