Posted on July 29, 2022 at 8:00 AM by Sadye Scott-Hainchek

When one book prize closes, another one opens.

To be specific and less cliche — the Rathbones Folio Prize has added categories, in response to the end of the Costa Book Awards.

The Guardian reports that there will now be three separate winners for the Rathbones Prize — fiction, nonfiction, and poetry — rather than having all three types compete for a single award.

However, the winners of each genre will, like the Costas, then square off for the ultimate prize.

A shortlist of four books per genre will come out early next year; the winner of each will receive £2,000 (about $2,400).

Then, in March, one of those three winners will be revealed as overall champion and take home an additional £30,000 (about $36,500).

Related posts 

Categories: Today in Books

Tagged As: Awards, The Guardian

There are no comments yet.
Add Comment

* Indicates a required field