Posted on October 28, 2022 at 12:00 PM by Sadye Scott-Hainchek

Congratulations to the 2022 Kirkus Prize winners, who were announced last night (and feted at a hybrid ceremony)!

The authors of these three books each take home $50,000: Trust by Hernan Diaz (fiction); In Sensorium: Notes for My People by Tanaïs (nonfiction); and Himawari House by Harmony Becker (young readers' literature).

You can read more about the judges and why they chose each book, as well as the authors' reactions, in the Kirkus Review press release.

On the other side of the pond, poet Harry Josephine Giles’s verse novel, Deep Wheel Orcadia, won the Arthur C. Clarke Award.

The award for best science fiction book of the year increases its prize incrementally each year; Giles will take home £2,022 (about $2,340).

Giles beat out five other novels, including Klara and the Sun by Kazuo Ishiguro, and joins such literary heavyweights as Margaret Atwood and China Miéville in receiving the award.

Related posts 

Categories: Today in Books

Tagged As: Awards, Book lists

There are no comments yet.
Add Comment

* Indicates a required field