Posted on September 22, 2023 at 12:00 PM by Sadye Scott-Hainchek

Being nominated for the John Dos Passos Prize for Literature is a complicated honor. 

The award, according to the founders, was created to honor the great (but often overlooked) author of The 42nd Parallel, 1919, and The Big Money.

The novelists who this year have been deemed equally talented but underappreciated are Achy Obejas, Brandon Hobson, Patricia Engel, and Margaret Wilkerson Sexton.

The winner will be announced in October; they receive an honorarium and the opportunity to give a reading at Longwood University (the administrator of the award) in spring 2024.

Previous winners, who in some cases are no longer overlooked, include Colson Whitehead, Annie Proulx, Tom Wolfe, and Ruth Ozeki.

Related posts 

Categories: Today in Books

Tagged As: Awards

Sounds like you have some interesting books for me to read.
K B Saunders | 9/22/23 at 9:41 PM
Add Comment

* Indicates a required field